Prof. S.R.D. Rosa

Chairman - Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board (SLAEB)

Prof. Rosa has been a very dynamic character in the Educational Industry and his considered as an excellent Physics Lecturer and an educator. Professor obtained his B.Sc. In Physics (Special-First Class), University of Colombo in 1979, M. Sc. In Physics, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA in 1982 and his Nuclear Physics; University of Pittsburgh in 1987.

Prof. Rosa has been lecturing since the year of 1980 to present, which marks nearly 40 years of academic lecturing. Currently he is serving as a member of the modeling group of University of Colombo, School of Computing which has won several national and international awards for their excellent research activities. He has an unparalleled capability of connecting Physics principles with events happening in day to day life and therefore students love to attend his seminars and talks.

Few of the accolades won by the group are as follows: Nominated for the World Summit Award (WSA 2011), It is a global activity to select and promote the world’s best e-Content and most innovative ICT applications, 2010: Merit- 10th International Asia Pacific ICT Alliance (APICTA) Awards 2010 held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia,2010, Gold Award at the National Best Quality Software Awards (NBQSA) 2010 organized by the BCS Sri Lanka Section.

Professor Rosa has been awarded many affiliations, few of them are he was a Member of the setting panel in G.C.E.(Advanced Level) physics paper from 1989 to 2003 and 2005 to 2013, President of Institute of Physics – Sri Lanka for the year 2004, 2005 and 2006, President of the University of Colombo Science teachers Association (2000 – 2009), Secretary of the Federation of University teachers Association (2006/07), ADB consultant on monitoring and evaluation of the implementation of the new Physics curriculum for local G.C.E.(A/L) (from 1995-1996), Member/Consultant appointed by the Ministry of Education to prepare Physics syllabi for year 10 – 13 under new reforms (from 2005 to 2007), Commonwealth Academic Staff Fellowship tenable in UK – 2004 and many more. He has authored unique books which are very popular among Physics students and teachers. Initiation of all Physics related Olympiads competitions in Sri Lanka is his brainchild.

Dr. Wijelal Meegoda

(M.B.B.S- Colombo, M.D (Radiology))

Dr W. Meegoda is a Consultant radiologist attached to Ministry of health, counting over twenty years’ experience in Nuclear Medicine and Radiology field. He obtained MBBS degree in 1993 from medical faculty, University of Colombo. He did his Post graduate training in National hospital of Sri Lanka for five years and St Vincents Hospital, Melbourne and Lyell Mcwin Hospital, Adelaide, Australia for two years. Dr Meegoda obtained M.D. in Radiology from Post graduate institute of medicine, Colombo and qualified as a board-certified specialist radiologist in 2005. He trained in U.S.A. for PET CT scanning and in Nuclear medicine in Mumbai and Chennai, India. 

He started his carrier as a medical officer in 1993 and served in several hospitals in the country. Entered training program in radiology at Post Graduate Institute of Medicine in 2000. Qualified as a consultant radiologist in 2005 and served in B.H. Balapitya, D.G.H. Matara and B.H. Tangalle. 

At Present he is a Director of the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board (SLAEB) and a consultant Radiologist at national Cancer hospital Maharagama (Apeksha hospital). Also serving as an Honorary Consultant radiologist at Police Hospital since 2015. He is a Council member of Sri Lanka College of radiologist. He is involved in training and conducting post graduate examinations in radiology at Post Graduate Institute of Medicine, Colombo.

Dr. Jeyasingam Jeyasugiththan

(PhD - Cape Town, MSc- Peradeniya, BSc Hons - Jaffna, SEDA - UK )

Dr.Jeyasugiththan is currently a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Nuclear Science of the University of Colombo and associate of International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) since 2019. He received his PhD in Physics in Proton Beam Radiotherapy in 2014 from the University of Cape Town. He has more than ten years’ professional experience in Clinical Radiotherapy and Radiation Protection as a Medical Physicist worked under the Sri Lankan Scientific Services (SLSS). As an academic Medical Physicist, he has been accredited as a teacher in Higher Education, by Staff and Educational Development Association (SEDA) UK.      

After completing of MSc in Medical Physics at the University of Peradeniya, Dr.Jeyasugiththan joined the Teaching Hospital Jaffna in 2005 where he worked as a clinical medical physicist and RPO at the Cancer Treatment Center, Tellippalai. Dr.Jeyasugiththan has participated IAEA expert mission to assess the status of Co-60 treatment machine and assess the overall clinical radiotherapy treatment”, IAEA technical cooperation project PAP/6/001 to Lae, Papua New Guinea, May 2018.      

In addition to being a Director of the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board (SLAEB), presently he is coordinating postgraduate and training programs for Medical Physicists and Radiographers. Currently Dr. Jeyasugiththan is actively studying the optimizing patient dose during the diagnostic radiological procedure which is timely important and urgent in Sri Lanka. He is also focusing research to other areas such as Radiotherapy, Nuclear Medicine and Radiation Dosimetry. He is presently supervising several PhD and MSc research projects.  Dr. Jeyasugiththan has additional responsibilities as the President of the Sri Lanka Medical Physics Society (SLMPS), a Member of Science Committee of Asia-Oceania Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics (AFOMP), IAEA National Project Coordinator – RAS6096, the Editor-in-chief: South Asian Center for Medical Physics and Cancer Research (SCMPCR), Program coordinator of the postgraduate degree in Medical Physics. He is serving as a member of various committees at the faculty level (HDC, CDEC and IT).

H.T. Kamal Pathmasiri

(Sri Lanka Administrative Service - Special Grade, MPA-PIM)

Former Secretary Ministry of Provincial Councils and Local Government from 2015-2019 and acted as the Chief Executive officer as well as Chief Accounting officer of the Ministry. As a Result of Cabinet Reshuffle on time to time Sports and Internal Affairs and Home Affairs included as additional Cabinet Subjects. In addition to that, 32 years of experience in Sri Lanka Administrative Service.  

He Served Various positions in the Different fields. From 2011-2015 worked as Government Agent/District Secretary at Colombo and Kalutara. From 2006-2011 worked as Director General of Sri Lanka Institute of Advanced Technological Education, acted as a chief academic officer and Chief Executive Officer. While working as Secretary to relevant Ministries, He hold responsible Key positions as Chairman of Sri Lanka Institute of Local Governance and Local Loan Development Fund, and Competent Authority of Sri Lanka Cricket. In addition to that, he served as a Board Member of Urban Development Authority, Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority, National Education Commission, Sri Lanka Institute of Development Administration (SLIDA) and Council Member of the University of Sri Jayawardanapura.        


At Present he is a Director of the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board (SLAEB). While working in different key positions. He had a golden opportunity to lead and represent Sri Lankan delegations in USA, UK, The Netherlands, Austria, Germany, Singapore, Ireland, Dubai, Ethiopia, Japan, South Korea, India, Pakistan, Philippine, Bangladesh, Indonesia, China and Australia.